top of page
album cover pic.jpg



About The Trophy Mules

Throughout the course of their musical journey, The Trophy Mules have won over the hearts of music lovers throughout the St. Louis area. Performing at a variety of venues and having their songs played on community radio, The Trophy Mules have earned the admiration and affection of critics and fans alike. 


The Trophy Mules combine rock, country and folk elements to deliver a distinctive and timeless collection of material that stretches across musical boundaries. The St. Louis band fronted by Corey Saathoff released the 12-song album "No Sooner Than the Moon" in November 2022, which quickly garnered accolades from KDHX 88.1 FM DJ Pat Wolfe in St. Louis as one of his top albums of the year. Previously, The Trophy Mules issued the six-song effort “Sunset Collapse” in 2016 and the 10-song album "Sorry Motel" in 2013, both of which are available on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and Bandcamp and other platforms. KDHX 88.1 FM in St. Louis has played several of the band's songs over the years.


The Riverfront Times has praised the band's music as "exceptionally well-played, pleasant country/Americana."


Saathoff fronted St. Louis acts Jerkwater Junction and Brain Regiment prior to forming The Trophy Mules in 2009. Rounding out the current band lineup is Scott Swartz on pedal steel, Jerrod Gordon on bass, Josh Kean on guitar, keyboards and vocals, and Dave Clark on drums.


The Trophy Mules have opened for such well-known music acts as Shooter Jennings, Chris Knight, Webb Wilder, Sons of Bill, American Aquarium, Wayne "The Train" Hancock, Trapper Schoepp, Deadstring Brothers, Star & Micey and Mountain Sprout. Whether it be as an acoustic solo/duo act or with his prior bands, Saathoff has also had the honor of opening for The Bottle Rockets, Slobberbone, Marah and Bobby Bare Jr.


To contact the band, email

Blood Red Cardinal (official video)

Blood Red Cardinal (official video)

Play Video


Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page